July's book

The book of lost and foundThe Book of Lost & Found

by Lucy Foley

We are kicking off our Book Club with a beautifully written story about sacrifice and love that spans the generations. Lucy Foley's debut novel is the perfect holiday escape that you’ll immerse yourself in- and find it hard to put down. 

 
 
            
 
 

Book synopsis

In many ways, my life has been rather like a record of the lost and found. Perhaps all lives are like that.
 
It’s when life started in earnest
HERTFORDSHIRE, 1928
 
The paths of Tom and Alice collide against a haze of youthful, carefree exuberance. And so begins a love story that finds its feet by a lake one silvery moonlit evening . . .
 
It’s when there were no happy endings
PARIS, 1939
 
Alice is living in the City of Light, but the pain of the last decade has already left its mark. There’s a shadow creeping across Europe when she and Thomas Stafford – now a world famous artist – find each other once more . . .
 
It’s when the story begins
LONDON, 1986
 
Bequeathed an old portrait from her grandmother, Kate Darling uncovers a legacy that takes her to Corsica, Paris and beyond. And as the secrets of time fall away, a love story as epic as it is life-changing slowly reveals itself . . .
 
Sweeping and heartrending – the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.
 
Download sample
 

Book reviews

'A glamorous, seductively immersive read... [Foley] is a talent to watch' Sunday Times

'Wildly romantic and very enjoyable; a super debut' Daily Mail
 
'A fabulously engorssing epic read' Woman & Home
 

About Lucy Foley

Lucy FoleyLucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry - during which time she also wrote The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time, and is busy travelling (for research, naturally!) and working on her next novel.

Visit her Facebook page and follow her on Twitter @LucyFoleyTweets or on Instagram. Or find her on Goodreads.